Currently, I am:

-watching the rain outside

-sitting in Starbucks because the internet at my apartment went out due to aforementioned storm

-finishing up the reading for my first class of the semester (which is still in over a week!)

-in Madison, my new home!

This week, I’m excited about:

-being in a new city! “Learning” places is one of my most favorite hobbies, so I’m excited to have a new place to explore.

-my brand new (to me) bicycle! I bought it on Saturday from a used bike dealer near campus. It’s a restored 1989 made-in-America red and yellow hybrid! I love it. I bought it with my very own money (the biggest purchase I’ve ever personally made) and so I left it at home today due to the rain 😉

-not having class just yet! I do need to buy books, get my student ID and bus pass, and go to a few orientation/beginning-of-the-year social gatherings, but it’s nice to have another week of summer before things get crazy.

And I guess I’ll round this out with a few pictures!

We went on a tour of the Capitol when my family was all still here!

We went on a tour of the Capitol when my family was all still here!

From the Capitol overlook

The view from the Capitol overlook

I thought this picture deserved a bit more social media exposure. Dad on Lake Mendota...

I thought this picture deserved a bit more social media exposure. Dad on Lake Mendota…

One stop on our Environmental Studies field trip was at a dairy farm, where we got to meet the sweet newborn calves (among other things). This little gal was one week old!

One stop on our Environmental Studies field trip was at a dairy farm, where we got to meet the sweet newborn calves (among other things). This little gal was one week old!

And another stop on our field trip: Kickapoo Valley Reserve. 40 years ago, the area was supposed to be dammed in to become a recreational reservoir, but the project was scrapped. The rocks in the picture are part of what was finished of the dam, and that concrete tower would have been the electrical control center of the dam.

And another stop on our field trip: Kickapoo Valley Reserve. 40 years ago, the area was supposed to be dammed in to become a recreational reservoir, but the project was scrapped. The rocks in the picture are part of what was finished of the dam, and that concrete tower would have been the electrical control center of the dam.

Besides all that, I’m just working on getting all settled in here! Leave a comment if you’d like… I want to know what kind of stuff I should be writing now that my life is a bit more mundane, so I can keep it interesting for y’all 😉 

5 thoughts on “Currently, I am:

  1. Hey Annie. Did your Dad fall in the water? I didn’t get that story! Have a good time exploring and I’ll get some names & addresses for you to look up in the Dells.
    Grandma

Leave a Reply

