been talkin’ ’bout the way things change…

…and my family lives in a different state.

Got to see The Head and the Heart in concert on King St. downtown last night… for free!

And it was amazing.

Other happenings include just getting into a daily and weekly rhythm.

Saturdays are some of the best days as they include a trip to the Farmers Market, which is an absolute wonderland. Today, I bought red cabbage, green onions, kale, carrots, and a few donuts (a guilty pleasure and a reward for committing to eating kale during the week ahead, maybe?).

Tuesdays and Thursdays are my busiest days… 6 total hours of class and 4 1/2 hours of those all in a row, from 1 till 5:15 PM. That last 4PM class is rough. But it is glorious to start the weekend at 5:15 on Thursday! Mondays and Wednesdays are usually reading and homework days, and sometimes (sometimes) I try to work out or get some exercise in on those days. Fridays… I normally kind of veg.

I’ve started going to spiritual direction with one of the priests at the catholic center here, and he’s had me going to Holy Hour every morning, which has been really amazing for my productivity.

And I’m still in constant pursuit of the best libraries to do homework. I’ve found some nice cafés, but I can’t afford to study in them all the time if I want to keep shopping at the farmers’ market 😉  Luckily, the main library (right across the way from St. Paul’s) doesn’t seem as oppressive and life-sucking as the PCL at UT. And there is a library in Science Hall, which is where over half of my classes are. Close proximity during cold weather will probably mean that I’ll end up studying at those places more often than not!

I should probably commit to doing a picture post soon, because this campus and this city are beautiful!

But for now… sayonara. I’m off to chop some kale.

Leave a Reply

