bloom where you’re planted

One blog that I read has a running theme called “Bloom Where You’re Planted” that focuses on looking at the positive side of any given situation and making the best of it… being fully present where you are, right now.

Bloom wherever you are planted.

Don’t wait until you are moved to better soil.

Don’t wait until you have more sunlight.

Don’t wait until you have cleaner water.

Just bloom.  Right there.  Where you are.  Bloom where you are planted.”

I really like that.

I’ve been recently working on trying to become more self-assured and content with myself… basically, being confident that I am where I am for a reason.

I have absolutely loved being in Germany, but it seems like lots of people are coming to Europe for the summer having already finished a regular semester at school, so I started thinking that I had somehow played my cards wrong because I’m not quite there yet. That is entirely the wrong attitude… I’m getting to spend 4 months here, not just traveling, but living here. How cool is that?

The timing of my trip has been a little interesting, too. My brother graduated yesterday. I’d known for a year that I would miss his graduation, and it was definitely not ideal, but that was just how it had to work. And then he was named valedictorian of his class… so I missed not only his graduation, but also his speech and one of his (and my family’s) proudest moments. I’m also missing my grandparents’ 60th anniversary (*edit… originally I typed “birthday”… my grandparents may have young spirits but they are not 60 years old!) celebration next month and the resultant Swaintek family reunion this summer, which I am also quite sad about. But I’ve realized that while it’s sad that I can’t be with them during these exciting events, I’m not being kicked out of the family… plus, my sister and her best friend made a “Flat Annie” that they brought to my brother’s graduation brunch and ceremony. I got to meet her over Skype yesterday… how weird. But awesome.

And now a lot of my favorite people from camp are getting ready to head back to Big Sandy for another summer at the Pines… and I’ve found myself getting really sad about not being able to be there this summer. So many of my best friends are going to be there, and I have so many amazing memories from that place, and it’s hard to let that go. But I’m working on it. It’s becoming so clear that my time at the Pines completely transformed my life, and I know that, if I give it the chance to do so, my time in Europe will be a chance for me to grow so much, as well.

So yeah! Good things are on the way here. I’m loving it. I am working on staying in the present, which is always hard for me, but when the present is so amazing, it should be a little easier, right?

(P.S. If you are reading this but have NEVER commented, you should totally leave a comment. Right now. I dare you. I want to know who is reading my blog!!!)

5 thoughts on “bloom where you’re planted

  1. well….I have commented already so you know I’m reading! I really like the poem at the beginning. I really need help with that too right now!

    I also love the fact that there is such a thing as Flat Annie….your fam cracks me up!!

    And I think you will find that this experience can change your life too. I remember being in Europe and in every church I would go in to, I would try to find the tabernacle and allow myself to just either sit in front of Jesus and not think or to pray. And we would go to like 4 or 5 churches a day so that was a really transforming experience for me. God is in all places not just the pines and you can have just as awesome and as transforming an experience right where you are 🙂

  2. MMmyyyyessss, mhee mhee mhee!

    I read your blog EVERY DAY, my sweet. I am only now, shall we say, admitting my true love!

    Oh my. I’m so sorry I’m so strange. This is Niki. And I comment on your blog all the time. But I miss you and I can’t wait to see you!

Leave a comment