real life

I know, EVERYONE is clamoring for Part II about London, based on all the wonderful comments posted on Part I! (Just kidding. Sad day, my friends. I had the most active blog week of my life last week, and no comments! Not a one!)

Anyway, since this little corner of the internet is basically a glorified diary, why not document some day-to-day occurrences and things that have been going on around here? It’s not all trips to London and galavanting across Europe, you know.

One thing of interest is that I have a new friend in Dresden! I finally met an American who lives here, who is on the same scholarship as me! She went to Northwestern, and she’s doing research at the University Hospital. We’re both keen to get integrated a little bit into “city life,” so we’re seeking out things to do. Coming soon: a visit to the Hygiene Museum, language tandems, a concert at the Marienkirche, a trip out to the Sächsische Schweiz with the Catholic student group? Maybe all of the above!

I have been very blessed with caring people since I got to Dresden, between my host parents (without whom I probably wouldn’t even have a mattress!), my roommate (who cooks delicious food and invites me to do fun things with her friends), a kind soul at the geography department with whom I get a cup of coffee (ok, tea) from time to time… even though I left behind a very supportive and close-knit group of friends at home, I didn’t have to look too far to find wonderful people once I got here, either.

Yesterday, I went to the movies with some of the people from my Prague trip. I saw Thor, which is hilarious because a) I’m normally not a huge comic book movie kinda girl, b) it was dubbed (but I understood it all, mostly, and probably lacked for understanding more because I hadn’t seen the first movie…), and c) apparently it hasn’t even come out in the US yet, so I’ve seen it before my Avenger-obsessed boyfriend has had the chance! I win!

I finally figured out what the heck is going on with my classes. I don’t need any grades, so I do not want to suffer through exams, and today I finally learned the proper name for what I am working to earn in each class: a Hörerschein! Which is basically an attendance certificate. I know, I know… aim high! But at least I know I will get some sort of credit for my effort!

I am loving my Spanish class. It’s great to be on the same level as the other students for once; we’re all beginners, even though I’m the only non-German! And here’s a tip for getting your professors to remember you: be from somewhere interesting! My teacher uses me as an example during basically every class (e.g. “Spanish is awesome because it’s easy to tell the gender of a noun just by looking at the word. Unlike in German. Just ask me or your classmate from Texas, we know how hard it is to figure out genders in German.”), because I am clearly the only one from Texas!

However, I could stand to practice my Spanish a little more. Anyone down for Spanish conversations over Skype (as long as the topic of the conversation only includes basic introductions, where you were born, your phone number, what you study, etc)?

I am about halfway done with my research proposal. I plan to start interviews a little later this month! That’s the part I’m the most nervous about, but I know that actually doing primary research will be good for my development as an academic. You can’t waste away in the library forever!!

I think that’s about enough for my brain dump. Thanks for being my sounding board, internet. It was good to talk to you.

6 thoughts on “real life

  1. Dont worry….we are reading! We were sick last week and my touchscreen is possessed but we read. I am sure most ppl are stunned by your grand escapades.
    Lol to texas being exotic to germans! Cracks me up.

  2. I am SO guilty of reading your blog and not responding with a comment…but you know my opinion about posting conversations…
    I LOVE your blog so keep writing…not only is it fun to live vicariously and tag along on your adventures but what a wonderful treasure for future generations!

  3. That whole “Hygiene Museum” thing still sounds very strange.
    But the main thing I wanted to say is, isn’t it supposed to be easy to tell the gender of a word in German, too? Can’t you tell by the ending? Did your teacher just mean that in German there’s a wider variety of endings, not to mention three grammatical genders instead of just too?

    • It is really difficult to tell genders in German… there are some endings that are always a certain gender, like -e, -ung, and -tion always being feminine, but even then there are lots of -e words that aren’t feminine, and the rest are kind of a crap shoot. I know there are a few rules, but overall you just have to know.

Leave a comment